Calling All Detectives
February 28, 2012 5 Comments
So, over the past six months or so (maybe longer?), I have received three strange emails through my blog contact form. All three are worded the same, and they go like this:
I just wanted to let you know that someone is using your pics for their fb to try to say they’re pregnant with twins:
Following this is a link to a legitimate, if not very busy, Facebook profile. The URL is going to Facebook proper, so it’s not a scam link that I can tell.
The first two times, the person they claimed was using my photos was not, in fact, using any that I could see. But this last one . . . Well, the bitch is using one of my belly shots from when I was pregnant with the twins as her profile photo. She also has an ultrasound photo of fraternal twins — not mine, of course, as my twins are identical — with her timeline header all decorated with the “twins’” “names”.
It’s bothering the shit out of me.
I’m a pretty good detective in many cases, but this time, I’m stumped. What the hell is going on? I have Googled the email, the email address it’s coming from, the woman’s name on the questionable profile. I’ve poured through Hoax-Slayer. I’ve asked twin mom friends. Nothing comes up.
This is part of the risk I take when I put my life out on the Internet for all to see. I started this blog to document my pregnancy, and I have continued it to hopefully help or entertain twin moms, twin moms-to-be, or any old type of mom, really. I’ve gotten really great emails over the years from readers telling me that my detailed documentation has been a real help to them throughout their multiples journey; that’s exactly why I continue writing (even as infrequent as it is these days).
So these assholes who steal my shit really make me mad and make me lose faith in the goodness of strangers.
If you find anything about this nonsense, let me know. I’ve been taking kickboxing twice a week mother fuckersĀ and I’m ready to knock a bitch OUT.

5 comments
I came across your blog randomly one day and read because lets face it… your hilarious! Anywho for what it is worth (which isn't a hell of alot!) I am a Mom of a micro preemie and have had the same thing happen to me. Someone used a picture of my daughters hand on thier facebook account saying that their baby had died. There were other preemie photos stolen and used by the same person.We bomarded her with e-mails and such and I *think* she did close her account. Distubing Aye?
That is pretty creepy. I don't watermark most of my photos, but I do sometimes if I think they could be stolen and used for stock photography or something like that. Maybe from now on you (and I should take my own advice here) should type a line of text throughthe center of all your pictures… I use my initials because I try very hard to keep my last name off my blog. I put "JMB do not copy" over and over on pics I want to watermark.
I was the last one to email you, and can give you any info you want if you e-mail
Think of it this way, you must have the best looking belly around that she chose you! If I were to fake a pregnancy, I certainly wouldn't use an ugly gut (like my own belly pics).
You know I love detective work!!!!
Creepers! I had a similar thing happen with my profile pic from back when I was on Match.com — except my picture was posted on someone's MySpace page along with the paragraph I wrote about myself in my bio — but the person's name was listed as Christine and the location was somewhere in Texas. SO WEIRD–flattering, I guess—but SO WEIRD. MySpace had a pretty specific way of dealing with situations like these and I imagine Facebook would have something similar (it included myself photographing myself in front of my actual MySpace profile). Good luck with all that!
My recent post Purple Cowboy – Cabernet Sauvignon @@@@ (4 corks)
Leave a Comment